Choose Love

39699-bigthumbnail

Why would anyone choose to live without love?  I know that I wouldn’t.  The people that I call friends wouldn’t.  Yet there are people who prefer to live a life that is filled with hatred.

Many are the ways in which God is seeking to make Himself known to us and bring us unto communion with Him.  Nature speaks to our senses without ceasing.  The open heart will be impressed with the love and glory of God as revealed through the works of His hands.  The listening ear can hear and understand the communications of God through the things of nature.  The green fields, the lofty trees, the buds and flowers, the passing clouds, the falling rain, the babbling brooks, the glories of the heavens speak to our hearts, and invite us to become acquainted with Him who Made them all.

Our Saviour bound up His precious lessons with the things of nature.  The trees, the birds, the flowers of the valley, the hills, the lakes, and the beautiful heavens, as well as the incidents and surroundings of daily life were all linked with the words of truth, that His lessons might thus be often recalled to mind, even amid the busy cares of man’s life of work.  God wants His children to appreciate His works and delight in the simple, quiet beauty with which He has adorned our earthly home.  He is a lover of of that which is beautiful, and above all that is outwardly attractive he loves beauty of character; He wants us to cultivate purity and simplicity, the quiet graces of the flowers.  If we would only listen, God’s created works will teach us precious lessons of obedience and trust.  From the stars that in their courses through space follow from age to age their appointed paths, down to the minutest atom, the things of nature obey the Creator’s will.  And God cares for everything and sustains everything that He has created.  He who upholds the unnumbered worlds throughout the immensity of the universe, at the same time cares for the wants of the little brown sparrow that sings its humble song without fear.  When men go forth to their daily labours, as when they engage in prayer when they lie down at night and when they rise in the morning; when the rich man feasts in his palace, or when the poor man gathers his children about the scant offerings of the table, each is tenderly watched by the heavenly Father.  No tears are shed that God does not notice.  It says in the Psalms that He has all of them in a jar!  There is no smile that He does not take notice of.

If we would just truly believe this, all undue anxieties would be dismissed.  Our lives wuld not be so filled with disappointment as now; for everything, whether great or small would be left in the hands of God, who is not perplexed by the multiplicity of cares or overwhelmed by their weight.  We should then enjoy a rest of soul to which many have long been strangers.  As your senses delight in the lovliness of the earth, think of the world that is to come that shall never know the blight of sin and death; where the face of nature will no more wear the shadow of the curse.  Let your imaginations picture the home of the saved, and remember that it will be more glorious than your brightest imagination can portray..  In the varied gifts of God in nature we see but the faintest gleaming of His glory.  It is written “Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man the things which God hath prepared for them that love Him”.

The poet has many things to say about nature, but it is the Christian who enjoys the beauty of the earth with the highest appreciation, because we regonise our Father’s handiwork and perceive His love in flowers and shrubs and trees.  No one can fully appreciate the significance of mountains and valleys, rivers and oceans, but we see them as an expression of God’s love for man.  We know that all of what we see in no ‘accident’.

God speaks to us through His providential workings and through the influence of His Spirit  upon our hearts.  In our circumstances and surroundings, in the changes daily taking place around us, we may find precious lessons if our hearts are but open to discern them.  The psalmist, taking in the fullness of the bounty with which we have  been provided says, “The earth is full of the goodness of the Lord.”  “Whomever is wise, and will observe these things, even they shall understand the loving-kindness of the Lord”.

Yes, for me, the only thing which makes life worthwhile is the knowledge that we are loved with a perfect love.  A love that gave everything to secure our eternal glory.  Yes, I must live in God’s love.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

9 Responses to “Choose Love”

  1. Hey Jewels- I like what you shared.When I was young I loved the song Twinkle Twinkle Little Star.It was the frst childs song to me that made you wonder just like the song said.It caused me to look to God.I knew I not make such awesome stars.The stars lead me to Him. Just like the wise men.The y looked to the star to lead them to the Savior.They each gave honor,praise and worship to the King.
    Ps.19:3 There is no speech nor language, where their voice is not heard.
    4 Their line is gone out through all the earth, and their words to the end of the world. In them hath he set a tabernacle for the sun,
    5 Which is as a bridegroom coming out of his chamber, and rejoiceth as a strong man to run a race.
    6 His going forth is from the end of the heaven, and his circuit unto the ends of it: and there is nothing hid from the heat thereof.
    7 The law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul: the testimony of the LORD is sure, making wise the simple.
    8 The statutes of the LORD are right, rejoicing the heart: the commandment of the LORD is pure, enlightening the eyes.
    9 The fear of the LORD is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the LORD are true and righteous altogether.
    10 More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.
    11 Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward.
    12 Who can understand his errors? cleanse thou me from secret faults.
    13 Keep back thy servant also from presumptuous sins; let them not have dominion over me: then shall I be upright, and I shall be innocent from the great transgression.
    14 Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.
    We are made to worship him.He cannot make us worship him.worship is a gift we give to the Lord.It is our responce back to him.Our gift and talents are made to use to love and serve each Him and others.Love is the only way to do this with no regrets.Jesus gave his all and we give our life to him responce to the Lover of our souls.Jesus Christ came in love,served in love,spoke truth in love.hung on the cross forgave in love and paid our dedit in love.He conquered the grave in love and He is coming back in love for his bride the church!!! God is love. I’m so glad to know and love him.Much love to you Jewels.xooxox

  2. Very true, Lisa. That is the reason that there are so many people who claim there is no God. God draws the soul to Himself, but the person has to respond to Him.
    As I have mentioned many times, I do not remember a time when I did not believe in God. When Father drew me to Christ and I was redeemed, I stayed in my home and did not come out until I read the entire Bible. I knew that God’s standards are quite high…in fact, He will accept nothing less than perfection.
    Thank God He has a plan to reconcile us to Himself!
    All we have to do is trust Christ as our sin-bearer. It sounds simple, but the plain fact of it is that “no servant is greater than his Master”. If the world hated Him (and it did) then the world will hate us (and it does)l
    Since man has rejected God, we have only ourselves to blame for the mess that the world is in, and it certainly is no excuse for not believing. In fact, God says that we are responsible, and that man is ‘without excuse’.
    But God did the greatest thing: He sent His Son to die in our place, and in exchange we get Christ’s righteousness. That sounds like a deal nobody could refuse!
    However, they do. People reject the Lord and His wondrous act of mercy towards us all the time. You should see all the hateful comments I get! I am not posting them here, however.
    Just the same as my Youtube Channel, this is a place for love. You will never see words of hatred at this Weblog.
    Thank you for your beautiful post, Lisa.
    God bless you!

  3. I knew it! Because of his wonderful love, mercy and grace. The words that you speak are full of truth and grace. We are his workmanship created in Christ Jesus, he is faithful and will complete it untill that day. No greater love hath a man than he lay down his life for a friend, and Jesus stretched out his arms and called me his friend and willingly died for you and me. There are no words that can describe the majesty of our Lord. He is Holy and worthy of our praise, we must give him our all and everything we have to serve him. He gave his all for us, and saved my soul. Eternity with Jesus is waiting for the redeemed and those who are justified. The curse of sin has been paid for to those who believe that Jesus is the Christ, the Son of God, the Savior of mankind. The invitation is open, whosoever will may come to receive salvation, the forgivness of sin and the love of the Father through his son Jesus. Jesus said to Love the Lord your God with all your soul, all your strength and all your might, and love your neighbor as yourself. You are my neighbor and my sister and I love you. We love all those who hate us and persecute us for Jesus sake. Jesus takes me just as I am, forgivin, his child, and I chose to serve him for the rest of my life. It will be worth is all, when we see Jesus, it will be worth it all, when we see Christ. Thank you for the article about the Love of God. Jesus said if you will confess me before man, I will confess you before my Father. I confess him today as my Lord and my Savior. May the Lord Bless you Juliet. You are doing great, and I am proud of you!

  4. Thank you so much for supporting my efforts here. For awhile there I thought I was just talking to myself! However, if even one (or two in this case) people get something out of my musings, then I am pleased.
    I am always filled with God’s love, and I must let it out!
    I felt (as I wrote the Choose Love article) that I was swept up in the Spirit and so cannot take credit for what is written here. I truly feel that I was merely the vessel through which the Spirit poured out beautiful words of praise for the Father and His handiwork.
    How can anyone not see that this world is God’s? That we must seek Him and walk with Him…
    Like I said, I would not have it any other way.
    God bless you brother!

  5. Give it more time, more people will find your website and will come back daily to be blessed by your writings of praise for the Lord. You are doing great!

    • I was thinking of writing a devotional, but I am not too sure about it. I will give it more thought and prayer. Thanks for your encouragement, Dan. Btw: in regard to the article ‘Line in the Sand’, one of my Youtube brothers is making a video about it. He asked my permission and i gave it the go-ahead. I think people need to be aware of what is going on at Youtube. And frankly, I have not as yet been able to forgive or pray for Surathan. Usually, I trip over myself to forgive people who have wronged me, but this one is tough. Please pray for me. I do not like the poison of unforgiveness in my heart.
      God bless you,
      Juliet
      PS I have been considering posting the hateful comments too, even though it is difficult to look at them. This way, we can pray for them. What do you think?

  6. Juliet, I have to say you have a great way with words. I feel as though I am at a crucial point in my life right now & need to seek spiritual truths to fill a deep hole in my life. Reading your words certainly opens up a new path that I have never trodden before. I have always marvelled at nature & the Universe & pondered on its origins & the ultimate nature of things & man.
    I am glad that I have found you as a friend & look forward to reading more of your beautiful words.
    All the best & keep up the great work,
    Gus

    • You have certainly made my day, Gus! Sometimes I get a bit frustrated, because I have this beautiful truth that I want to share and nobody seems to want it. I have had a bit of writer’s block lately, because I almost felt as though I was only preaching to the choir, so to speak.
      May God bless you to the fullest measure in all things, Gus. You have given me the inspiration to write more, because getting responses like yours are the whole reason why I want to write about Godly things in the first place. Keep praying, and the Lord will respond to you in a way that will leave no room for doubt, ever.
      Once again, thank you so much and God bless!
      Juliet

    • I wanted to add that we all have a God-shaped void in our souls and spirits, and that only the Living God can can fill it. People try to fill that void with everything BUT God, but He designed us to run on Him. He is our fuel. Without fuel, we can only stay stalled on the side of the road, and never grow into the people that we were created to be. I suggest daily Bible reading, and you will see how it will change you, little by little. The first step is acknowledging our complete need for Him, and our helplessness without Him. Right now God’s Spirit is talking to you: and obviously you hear Him.
      Praise God!
      I will be praying for you, Gus. You have blessed me greatly!

Leave a Reply

