Not All Men Will Be Saved

16365-bigthumbnailThere are some doctrines in the Bible which are difficult, nevertheless they are true.  “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.  “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts.”

Isaiah 55: 8,9

People find it distasteful that it says in the Word of God “In fact,, the law requires that nearly everything be cleansed with blood and without the shedding of blood there is no remission of sins”

Hebrews 9:22

As I go deeper and deeper into the point I am making, you are going to find that you will like what I am saying less and less.  Perhaps.  That all depends on whether or not you have learned to love the Truth.  There are many who profess Christ who do not love His Truth.  If you do not love the Truth, then I am afraid you do not love God, because they are One and the same.  God is Truth.  In fact, if you try to define truth without God you will have to abandon any efforts straight away, because there must be a standard by which you begin, an absolute cause, and that absolute cause and standard is the Word of God.  And the Word of God is God.  Remember?  In the beginning was the Word?  And the Word was with God and the Word was God?  Basic Christianity 101.

There are a good many people on the internet who like to argue the cause of Universalism.  They like to use a Scripture like John 3:16, and then throw away the hundreds of other Scriptures which do not support what is they think John 3:16 is saying.  It isn’t saying what they think it is saying anyway.  What it is saying is that God has so much love for His elect, His chosen people, that He sent His Son to die for them, taking their sins and dispensing with them so that He can give them eternal life with Him.  On what basis does God choose His people?  That is not given for man to know.  And yet so many people have argued with me that all men will be saved.  Let’s break it down…

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.”

The basic sense of the Greek word for the world meaning ‘an ornament’ is illustrated by the word ‘adornment’ (1 Peter 3:3)  While the NT uses it a total of 185 times, John had a particular fondness for this term, using it 78 times in his Gospel, 24 times in 1-3 John and 3 times in Revelation.  John gives it several shades of meaning, 1) the physical created universe, 2) humanity in general, 3) the invisible spiritual system of evil dominated by Satan and all that it offers in opposition to God, His Word, and His people. 

So which one of these uses did John have in mind when he wrote John 3:16?  He meant humanity in general.  But who, of those who fit the bill, will be saved?  Those who believe in Jesus Christ His only begotten Son.  Do you suppose that He is going to somehow forgo that clause because He is such a nice guy?  “I could never believe in a God who would send anyone to hell”.  Okay.  Fine.  Don’t.  You don’t believe in the God of the Bible anyway.  I could never believe in a God who writes a Bible and then doesn’t go by what He sets down in it.  Salvation is serious business.  If we cannot trust the Word of God then we can trust nothing.  As for me, I trust and believe in the Word of God 100%.  This means, however, that there will be some who perish because ‘they refused to love the truth’.  Please do not try to tell me that every single person you know believes in Jesus Christ as the Saviour of mankind. 

I remember just recently I was at a video forum where a person wrote to me “I have not read anything anywhere in Ephesians about the predestination of some to salvation.  I couldn’t believe it.  Can someone actually block certain words out of their minds when they read the Word of God?

“”Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame before Him in love, having predestined us to adoption as sons by Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the good pleasure of His will, to the praise of the glory of His grace by which He made us accepted in the Beloved.”

Ephesians 1:3:6

“And we know that all things work together for good with them that love God and are the called according to His purpose.  For whom He foreknew, He also predestined to be conformed to the image of His Son, that He might be the firstborn among many brethren.  Morover whom He predestined, these He also called, whom He called, these He also justified; and whom He justified, these He also glorified.”

Romans 8:28-30

Okay, so now I know what comes next.  There are those of you who are going to tell me that everyone is saved, we are all predestined.  We are all the elect.  Sounds stupid, but okay.  I can point out Scripture that answers that too.  See, here is the problem.  You do not want to hear the truth.  If you do not wish to hear the truth it can only be because you are not saved.  If you are not saved, my reccomendation to you is to cry out to God to save you.  Admit that you are a piece of dirt, the most vile sinner who ever lived.  If you really believe that there may be hope for you.  If you do not believe that, I am afraid that until you do believe it there is no hope for you.  Self-righteousness is a sin that many people fall into, and it is deadly.  It keeps us from acknowledging the truth before God.  If you think you pass before God with the sin of self-righeousness and go skipping merrily into heaven you are mad.  God is holy.  Holy God cannot tolerate sin, which is why I told you at the outset that without the shedding of blood there can be no forgiveness of sin.  People have accused of God of being bloodthirsty, yet He is the One who paid the sin-debt for His people, so I am afraid you are wrong on that count.  And if you are someone who is saying that, then you are a God-hater and there is little hope for you either.

God loves His people.  And He enables us to love Him, because we are, by nature, God-haters.  We are by nature children of wrath.  But everything we need for salvation is given to us, as a gift.  Those who do not have the gift do not understand this, and are trying to earn it.  It cannot be earned.  It can only be given.  That is why you have such hostility for we have the gift.  You think we think we are better.  We do not think we are better, in fact we know we aren’t better!

My recommendation to you is to cry out to God.  Admit to Him just how wretched you are.  Do you think you are wretched?  See, you can’t just work up a few tears and pretend you think you are awful.  You must know that you are.  Do you know that you are a bad person?  Do you know just how depraved you are today?  Listen, if you need for me to quote you some more Scriptures for you before you are willing to believe that not everyone is going to be saved, I will be happy to do so.  I really don’t think that is the problem though.  I honestly don’t think you understand just how depraved and vile and sinful and hateful and horrible you are.  

But don’t worry.  If you are a child of God, He will make sure you do understand.  You aren’t going to have much fun going through that part, but whatever it takes to get you there, He will do it.

Please understand my motivation for writing this article.  There are many of you who are God’s elect out there who do not yet know it.  You are resisting God’s truth out of stubbornness or for any number of reasons.  I keep thinking of Blanche DuBoise in ‘A Streetcar Named Desire” saying “Don’t!  Don’t hang back with the brutes!”  Yes, it sounds over-the-top but this is serious stuff, there is nothing more serious than the salvation of souls.  My heart will give me no rest knowing that there are people out there who do not yet know the Lord Jesus Christ.  I truly do love my neighbor as myself, or at least I do as much as I am able, and every day I am learning to do it more and more.  The one thing I do care about is that those who belong to the Saviour get to know Him sooner rather than later.  The sooner we get to know our Lord the sooner we can begin our Christian walk and the sooner we can start producing fruit.  There is so much hate in this wretched world then if for no other reason I want to see as many come to Christ as soon as possible.  And among professing Christians I see so much hatred I am appalled!  Can these truly be Christians?  I am continually shocked by the number of Christians who daily call me a ‘satanist’, ‘witch’, and told I am ‘not saved’ because of a difference in doctrine.  And then there are those who claim to be without sin.  Oh, those really kill me.  Though we are saved, we will never stop sinning in this lifetime, never.  The root of sin is so deep that it will never be fully excised, not in this life.

I pray that everyone who reads this article is saved, either already or that they do come to Christ.  I pray that if they have been behaving in a manner unbefitting one who professes Christ, that would immediately stop; I pray that those who have been blinded by false doctrines will be enlightened to the truth…  I pray that those who are deluding themselves will cease and desist immediately!

I pray, Father, that your will be done in everyone’s life and that You are Glorified in All Things.

 

julietsm

10 Responses to “Not All Men Will Be Saved”

  1. Well said my dear,this is only a source of contention for those who refuse to humble themselves in the sight of God and man.
    Why?
    Because truth requires that we re-examine what we believe to be true and see if it truly lines up with what is being spoken.
    The honest seeker will not be ashamed to admit if he/she is in error if indeed they are,I will be the first to say (here anyway) that if I am wrong and there have been many times that I have been,I will discard what I thought to be true for that which is true in substance.

    “To this end was I born and for this cause came I into the world that I should bear witness to the truth.Everyone that is of the truth hears my voice.”
    John 18:37

    It is obvious that not all men will hear his voice,for again he says,
    “He that is of God hears Gods words,for this reason you do not hear them,because you are not of God.”
    John 8:47

    Herein lies the mystery of both election and predestination,they who are of GOD hear his voice and they who are not of God ,but are of the devil,hear not his voice.

    Thanks be unto God for his unspeakable gift!

    • As always, Arin, that was really well-spoken.
      You are going to have to write a guest article for my blog! You have sound doctrine and write very well, my sister.
      Love,
      ~Juliet

  2. If Universalism were true then why did Christ need to come down to earth at all? Why did He need to be crucified? If Hell does not exist (in whatever form it may take) then why is it spoken of in the Bible. The plain truth is that heaven is open only to an elect. We are predestined to become a child of God. We are given this by the grace of God alone. This much is patently obvious if one actually reads the Bible.

    Universalist live in the most deluded world view of any believers. If we take their view as serious, then not only are the 10 commandments of the Lord not required, but also any of the words of the bible, or indeed the need for Jesus Christ to descend to earth to help redeem us either. If we take Universalism to its logical conclusion, we could all sin away with careless abandon; committing whatever atrocities and horrors we like and yet still end up in heaven too?

    Does that sound like Christianity at all? I think even Universalists themselves would admit that it bears no relation to any of the words of Jesus at all.

    Well done on another well thought out article my dear! May God bless you my dear friend and sister!

  3. As one of your universalist friends, that your post is very well thought out and full of honestly. I would point out though, that those of us who believe in universal salvation have a diverse reasons why, it isn’t a single doctrine, just as any denomination or people in any congregation have difference reasons why they believe whatever it is they believe. I did think that one of the things you said, may be miss understood about universal salvation, is that we believe we are without sin, which is not the case, the best way I know to describe it is from my own point of view, which is God has placed a mandate on my heart to speak though the point of view of seeing all of creation though His blood, like were were wearing sunglasses stained with His blood, such that we are blind to sin of our own and of others and as the scripture says to bring no shame or judgement nor penalty for sin in our words. Which is not a universalist scripture, it is a common held belief of the new covenant. I’m not saying I’m great at walking this out all of the time. When we a sin centric in our faith, we are the ones creating distance with God, and then we blame God for the distance, like when Adam and Eve hid in the garden because of their shame, behind the bushes. God being all knowing still came to walk with them. God’s glory is when we bring our shame and walk with Him in the garden and lay it at the feet of Jesus and instead of looking at our shame we fellowship with Him through it, taking our eyes off the shame, with those sunglasses stained with Jesus’ blood, and our gaze is shifted off ourself and unto Him. As He still calls to us, “Will you walk with Me? Will you trust me?” And it really isn’t for me about saying I see no sin, as that is not a God focused thinking either, it is about saying, Lord here is my shame and I lay it before your feet. Being consumed with looking at our sin is the idol that inhibits fellowship, after much work, we can moved to a new level of deeper intimacy. I’m reminded of David, one of the most vile man in the bible, on who was willing to bring all his shame before the Father, the new child had already been birthed in him as he was still call “friend of God”. I pray this word has lifted your heart in some way.

    All my love, and for you, I see you though the blood of Jesus, sinless in the spirit, yet willing to bring your shame of the flesh to the Father so that fellowship, His Holiness with our shame, walking together and bring His glory in the the Earth which is us.

    In His Presence,

    Ryan

    • Actually, the comment I made was directed at a whole different batch of people… There are some Arminians on Youtube who believe that at conversion they became sinless. Literally. They have asked me: “Do you sin?”
      I honestly refused to get into it with them, because they had already made it clear that they reject me and my beliefs, so no matter how I responded to that they would have said something rude and hateful. Why ask for it?
      But to answer it for you, yes I do. I don’t think it is possible to be sinless in this life. I also obviously don’t think everyone is going to be saved.
      Ryan, I know you love God. I just pray that whatever mistaken (in my opinion) beliefs you hold do not get in the way of your salvation.
      I do not wish to spend eternitiy without you!

      • You are much better at some of this stuff… like… what is arminians? I’m not very familiar with the term.

        Back to what we were chatting about… I kind of look at it like this… that we have to look at ourself as we are built in the image of God, and He is a trinity, and we are also given that same form, Spirit, Soul/Mind, and Body… and each of them is in need of salvation. I believe regardless of what people say with the Soul, that the Spirit is unable to not respond to God’s calling, I think the hard part we get to work on here on Earth is the Soul… we can do a little bit for the body, not much, that will be glorified in the after life.

        I’m not so sure that our ideologies do anything to save our spirit, I see it more of His work for our spirit, I think it is referred to as the seal of the spirit, being salvation of the spirit. When you see verses that say kingdom or kingdom of heaven, I think of those as being about the salvation of the soul and how we act out Jesus socially with others. As for mistaken beliefs, I don’t think any of our beliefs are right… not in comparison to God… I was saying in a post on my YouTube channel… in the comments, that we have to get to the point that we stop trying to clean ourself up and stop hiding our shame and hid behind the bushes, I mostly had TheWoodsOfJordan in mind, but it is true that God knew of their shame and still intended to walk with them in the garden, and we blame God for the distance.

        I love your that you are doing this blog and love chatting with you.

        Hugs,

        Ryan

        I love that you do these post

    • Ryan, you are such a dear soul that I find it difficult to argue my point with you, because you are so kind and loving, I believe that you are a child of God despite your mistaken (again- in my opinion) ideas about the Word and what it has to say to man.
      We seem to have had a lovely rapport straight away, and I will never forget the beautiful video you made for me when I was sick. None of my Calvinist brethren did that for me!
      I agree with you on this much: it isn’t our doctrine which saves us, that is by grace through faith in the Lord Jesus Christ, and I pray with every fiber of my being that I will be with you in paradise.
      It just wouldn’t be the same without you!
      Hands down, you are one of the kindest people I have met on Youtube, despite the fact that you face a lot of persecution. I see the image of Christ being formed in you, and I can’t think of any higher praise that i could give a person.
      May God bless you to the fullest measure in all things, forever!

      julietsm

    • My friend,there are many instances of people who went to Hell in both the OT and New T,but I’ll only give 3 examples, from both testaments.
      God destroyed the Earth one time and only counted 8 righteous enough to save from the flood that was sent because of man’s sin.God destroyed practically the whole human race and sent those people to Hell.There was also Judas,that Jesus said,I have kept all those you gave me but one,so that the scriptures would be fulfilled,and Judas was called a Devil,when Jesus said He lost him,He was talking about Judas going to Hell.Then you have the false prophet and the beast,these two are snatched up and cast into the Lake of Fire at Jesus’ second coming,they are not even taken before God to be judged.Now how in the world can you believe that all people go to Heaven and no one ends up in Hell,I’d really like to know? God Bless

      • Very good comment, my dear brother. I have recently been through a whole spate of troubles, one of which I plan to write about in my next article.
        However, on a personal note, I sincerely apologise for the lapse in our correspondence. I love you dearly and I promise you will be hearing from me soon!
        I wish you would comment at more of my posts; your doctrine is rock-solid and I love to read your comments. Would you like to write an article for my blog?
        I would be deeply honoured!
        Love in Christ,
        ~Juliet

  4. Well Ryan I am glad that you do recognise that salvation is God’s work in us, and not ours. (Laughing) There may be hope for you yet!
    Those who think that they are responsible in any way for their salvation have not yet recognised God’s proper role in their lives.
    Like that old saying “God is my co-pilot”. That one kills me, because if God is not the pilot I am in big trouble!
    I do not know how to fly!

    julietsm

Leave a Reply

